The Secret to Sticking With Exercise

One of my recent blog posts on U.S News Eat+Run was all about sticking with an exercise plan. People know that they need to exercise to look good and to live longer, so why is it that the average American only gets 17 minutes of exercise a day?

Sticking to an exercise plan and making it a part of your lifestyle goes beyond weight loss and stems from the meaning behind it. That’s the secret! You can change … if you want to. All you have to do is find your meaning, your value, your motivation.

Here’s a snippet from the post on how to make exercise more meaningful to you:

1. Come up with a list of reasons why exercise is important to you. Take note of what exactly you get in return for your investment in exercise.

2. Take a look at your list, and find a deeper meaning for each one of your reasons. Ask yourself, “Why do I care about _________?”

3. Open your calendar and schedule your workout time every day for the next two weeks. That’s right, every day. This way when something comes up, your time is protected for the next workout and you don’t have to feel bad about missing the current one.

For more tips on sticking with exercise and finding your motivation read the full article

2 Responses

  1. My secret is to only participate in movement that makes me feel good and that I enjoy.

  2. Starting is always easy when trying to start a new routine like exercise. It’s actually sticking in that’s really hard to do and I am guilty on that one. I’ve already tried several times, a new routine of exercise and I yet didn’t finish anything because I’m having a hard time sticking with it. Your blog post is really good. I hope by reading this I can already manage to stick to my goal. Health and Wellness all the way.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 10,475 other followers

