Little Healthy Fishes Recipes – Anchovy Pasta Primavera

I have to admit I had never tried anchovies before, but took this month’s theme of “Sea What You’ve Been Missing” to dip my toe into the anchovy pond. This is a simple and delicious veggie and anchovy whole wheat pasta dish that tastes great hot or cold. I dare you to make it for your next potluck or family dinner and fake out your diners — they are indeed eating anchovies!!!

Packed with Nutrition

Anchovies are little nutrition powerhouses . A can is typically 2 oz. and packed in about 1.5 TBS of olive oil. There are 2 servings per can (1 oz. each) so each serving has about 8g of protein and only 3 grams of fat. They’re also a good source of calcium, iron and phosphorus, and a very good source of niacin and selenium and have almost 600 mg of essential omega-3 fatty acids. The downside is they are high in sodium, so I didn’t add any salt to the dish, yet still found it full of flavor. Here’s how I did it:

Ingredients:

  • 2 oz. can of anchovy fillets in oil, oil reserved
  • 1/2 pound of whole wheat pasta (or you could serve it with brown rice or quinoa)
  • tsp red pepper flakes
  • 2 tsp each dried oregano and basil
  • 3 cloves garlic minced
  • whatever veggies you like (I did 1 pint grape tomatoes, 1 broccoli crown chopped, and 2 zucchini cut into half moons — you could add spinach, peas, anything you like!)

Directions:

First, you cook the pasta to al dente (still a little firm). Then while the pasta cooks, heat a saute pan on medium with 1 TBS of the oil from the anchovies, the minced garlic and red pepper flakes. As the oil heats the fish starts to melt and almost creates a sauce. If the garlic sizzles too much, lower the heat — I almost burned mine!

Then, once the garlic is slightly cooked, add the veggies (except the tomatoes) to the pan and cook until soft — just a couple minutes.

After the broccoli and zucchini softened I added the tomatos, then put the lid on the pan to help the tomatoes burst and release their juices to make the mixture saucy.

Then, once the pasta is done, add it to the pan and toss to coat the noodles. Then enjoy! You could add shrimp or chicken to this to bump up the protein even more.

Nutrition Info per Serving (serves 4): analyzed using Calorie King software

Calories 301 | Fat 6g | Sat. Fat 1g | Cholesterol 12mg | Sodium 553mg | Carbs 52g | Fiber 8g |Protein 16g | Calcium 101mg



8 Responses

  1. Looks delicious. I actually love anchovies but rarely eat them!

  2. I’ve never tried cooking with anchovies before, but this sounds simple and delicious!

  3. Looks delish! Anchovies add great Italian flavor to veggies…I use anchovy paste and saute it in oil first, then toss in broccoli…so delish!

  4. YUM! Great idea to sneak anchovies into pasta! I’m always amazed at the great line-up of nutrients in anchovies and ‘little fishes’!

  5. Thanks guys!

    I am an anchovy convert. I’ve known they were good nutritionally, but never had them in anything except for traditional Cesar salads!

    I have to say, I would make this dish over and again. I’d love to figure out a way to do anchovies in a white bean dip. I’m thinking sauteed with olive oil, garlic, then mashed… perhaps if the flavor isn’t right adding some sundried tomato?

  6. Looks delish and a terrific way to introduce anchovies into someone’s diet. I think your white bean dip idea sounds yummy too!

  7. I have had a can starring at me for months! Thx for the recipe :)

  8. […] more simple and healthy recipes using canned foods, like anchovy primavera or black bean salsa, surf around my blog and discover the delicious creations you can make, at an […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 11,077 other followers

