Biggest Loser Couples Episode 3 – What’s With the Big Numbers?

images.jpgLast week the contestants lost very little weight and they were extremely frustrated. This week we saw serious numbers. What gives?

I think there were some clear answers in the episode.

In short, everyone kicked it up a notch. Higher intensity and greater duration of workouts means more calories are burned. As they learn the ins-and-outs of good nutrition they can better comply with the Biggest Loser diet and they begin to realize the extra snacking isn’t worth the calories.

a note about the gum pitch: I tried this and it has worked at times and other times it has not. Personally, for me it works better to brush my teeth after a meal or if I feel tempted to snack and I am genuinely not hungry.

If you are genuinely hungry, go for a low-cal, high energy snack like a few nuts, celery, apple or banana with peanut butter, veggies like sugar snap peas or red pepper with a little hummus. Don’t forget the water or herbal tea, which will help keep the extra snacking under control.

If you’re doing the million pound matchup from home, keep the “kick it up a notch” approach in mind. If you are walking outside try to take a route with hills. If you are on a treadmill set a small incline, even a 1% grade makes a difference. Try to interject jogging spurts, even if it is only 10 second. Tomorrow it will be 20 second jogs and by the end of the week you’ll be at one-minute jog intervals.

Whatever you do, make sure you do something every day! I can’t stress this enough. You will have days where it seems impossible to get a workout in. Don’t skip. Do push ups, sit ups, wall squats, jumping jacks — and any other similar exercises you can do in your living room. Fifteen minutes is better than zero. Fit it in. I exercise while I watch the Biggest Loser believe it or not and I don’t even have a treadmill. I just do any exercise I can think of that uses my body weight as resistance. Don’t quit. Don’t back out. Don’t give up.

Good luck this week!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 11,434 other followers

